Weekly Musings: Practice is the Key to Success|Ct Hyundai dealer

Do you ever look at someone and feel jealous about what they have? How far they’ve gotten in life? Do you ever think, “why not me?” Well, there’s an alternative to that thinking.

We all want “quick fixes”. We want to win the lottery, take a pill to lose weight, etc. I promise you, though, most people get what they want by lots and lots of practice. The success starts slowly and with more practice and more discipline comes more success.
I have friends that are great business people but terrible parents. Not surprising. They put 120% effort into business, attending seminars, reading journals, working long hours and they put very little time into parenting. The truth is, they could have both if they dedicated the practice to both. You can be successful in lots of areas of life if you just dedicate the time and energy to doing so.

In Malcolm Gladwell’s book “The Outliers,” (highly recommend) he conducted a study that showed it takes 10,000 hours of practice to master something, whether its golf, or medicine, or the guitar, or parenting. That doesn’t mean, though, that you can’t have pretty darn good command of a subject with 5,000 hours or even 1,000 hours.
So, I ask you to think about it this week, what areas do you want success in? Your career? Your family life? A sport? Whatever area it is, what are you doing to practice it every single day? If you are a sales person and want to excel at it, are you watching sales videos, reading books and articles and practicing role playing with your colleagues? If you are a technician, are you taking classes, reading magazines, tackling ever tougher problems until you figure them out?

For me, one of my focus areas is leadership. I love it and I want to get better at it. So, I have committed to being a student of leadership. I am always reading a leadership book, studying a blog and looking for insight in other people I encounter.

As the great actor Will Smith says, “I’ve always considered myself to be just average talent and what I have is a ridiculous insane obsessiveness for practice and preparation.”

At Key Hyundai, we practice our mission statement every day, “we believe everyone deserves to drive a nicer, newer car.  Key Hyundai wants to keep your car fun and safe to drive for as long as you wish to drive it.

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Key Hyundai Solution Providers, Uncategorized, Work/life balance and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment