Day 1: Do I really want to do this?

So, I’ve made this commitment to getting 30 minutes of outdoor activity a day.  Why am I doing this?  I work out at the gym and just had a physical and I’m in perfect health.  I am doing this because I’m a workaholic and an everything-with-intensity-aholic.  I need a mechanism to calm my mind, daily.  And, fresh air does it for me. 

Yesterday was my first day.  We went to Vermont over the New Year holiday.  We got back to Connecticut around 2pm and I started puttering around the house. I announced that I was going to go for a run and my six year old, Carly, started to protest, “don’t go….”  Then, she said, “can I go with you?”  I instantly said, “no”.  I didn’t think I’d get enough exercise with her in tow. Then, I started to lose interest in going outside at all.  Then I reconsidered.  I mean, what better opportunity to spend some time with your children than running outside in 50 degree weather in January in Connecticut????  I mean, this commitment isn’t about intensity of exercise (see, the intense thing again?) it’s about actively getting outside 30 minutes a day.  I announced to Carly that we would go together. 

Carly was so excited!  She even went and changed into her “running clothes”.  She put on her watch so we could time the 30 minutes. 

What a successful first day!  We ran and we talked, we talked and we ran, we walked, we held hands, we sprinted, and we laughed, we did crazy arms and we kicked our butts with our legs and most of all, we connected.  Our goal when we set out was to run every street in our cul de sac-y neighborhood.  We had one quarter of a street left when Carly said, “let’s turn around.”  It was a great opportunity for me to teach her the importance of finishing what you set out to do.  We finished, we ran inside and we immediately looked at her watch.  We were outside cajoling for 35 minutes!  She was so excited that we beat our time goal by five minutes.

Day one, uberly successful!

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Family, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

