Day 3: Breaking the Rules

View of First Condo from Beach

I am a rule follower.  I have been all my life.  Maybe it’s first child syndrome?  Who knows!  But, if there’s a rule out there, I follow it.  Just ask my husband, Rob.  He’s been nudged by me for the last 12 years.  “Did you tip that guy?”  “Did you call and ask what we are supposed to bring?”  “Did you make sure the kids are welcome?”  I annoyingly want to always make sure I”m following the rules.

When I went into business for myself (or, with my brother, I should say), I just kept continuing to follow the rules that I followed at First Boston and Microsoft.  Have to be to work by 8:30am.  Can’t leave to workout in the middle of the day.  Must be there until at least 6:00pm every night.  I allowed myself none of the benefits of working for yourself.

Last year was a tough one.  We revamped the business from the ground up.  We had a consultant come in (my now good friend, Greg Goebel) and analyze our business.  He left me with an action report.  I followed it to the letter of the law (those darn rules again).  I just reread the report and we accomplished literally everything in it.  The business is now on the road to success (okay, it’s successful).

Now the rule breaking comes in.  It’s time for me to think differently.  I don’t have to punch a clock.  I have the freedom to be where I want to when I want to (unless I’ve committed to someone).  It’s time to benefit from the fruits of my 20 plus years of labor.

What does all this rule breaking talk have to do with getting 30 minutes of outdoor activity?

I was in Milford for a 9am meeting.  I left the meeting at 10:30am and went down to the beach IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DAY for a 30 minute walk.  Not only did I take time for myself, but I went to the beach!  And, it’s not summer and it’s not vacation time.

It’s day three of my commitment to get outside for 30 minutes of activity.  Not only did I do it but I got to walk on the beach and reminisce about my first condo with my husband. I felt the brisk wind on my face.  I breathed in the ocean smell.  I watched the winter birds swim around.  And, I cleared my head for the rest of the day that lay before me.

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Work/life balance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 3: Breaking the Rules

  1. kathykate says:

    rockstar, pure & simple & …. windswept!

  2. Chuck Dortenzio says:

    The fact that you can do that is job satisfaction for me. Now, what sound do Koala’s make?

Leave a Reply

