Day 7: Dankso Clogs Save the Day But Almost Ruin the Surprise

My friend, Alison and I headed to NYC yesterday for a surprise 45th birthday party for our dear friend Susan.  On the train ride down (Business Class on the Acela….very chichi) I told Alison about my 360 day pursuit.  I then informed her that I hadn’t gotten my outdoor activity time yet for the day.  She willingly agreed to participate with me.

We stayed in a midtown hotel and the party was at Susan’s Aunt and Uncle’s apartment on the Upper East Side.

The Dankso Clog

I had a big problem, though.  My glam NYC outfit involved high boots and they do not make good walking shoes.  So, I stuffed my boots in my handbag, put on my Dansko clogs and off we went.

I will confess; I may not have gotten in a full half hour (probably more like 20 minutes) because we started getting close to the time that Susan’s amazing husband Rich (the surprise party planner) wanted us at the apartment.  Rich worked so hard on the surprise part that I sure didn’t want to be the one to blow it by being late.

So, we jumped in a cab and high tailed up to 94th Street.

PS:  I almost ruined the surprise because I left my shimmery Dansko’s in the entryway by the elevator.  Three minutes before Susan walked in, I realized that the shoes might give the surprise away.  I rushed out to the hallway and brought them inside and hid them.  Phew…that was a close call!

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Travel, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

