Day 8: Weird Barbie Stuff, the Occupiers and the Guggenheim

Have an extra $25,000 laying around?

Day 2 in Manhattan.  We wake up at 9:00am and our train doesn’t leave until 4:00pm.  A full day in NYC with one of my besties, Alison, and no kids?  What do we do?  Go to FAO Schwartz.  You heard it right, we went and walked around FAO Schwartz. And, we saw a $25,000 Barbie foosball table.  It was highly disturbing, really.  The foosball players were armless Barbies, full figures in tact, but no arms.  I couldn’t help but chuckle and immediately text the picture to my marketing genius, Kate.

Those of you who know me well, know that I had a strange run in with the Occupy New Haven and Occupy Hartford people this past week over an ad I ran (click here for video of their visit to Key Hyundai).  So, when I saw the $25,000 Barbie foosball table, the irony of the Occupiers concern over Key Hyundai actually helping the 99% drive nicer, newer cars so they can get to their jobs and get family members to doctor’s appointments, etc when there is so much ridiculous excess in the world gave me a good laugh.  The irony that they would protest Key Hyundai when we support over 100 families in Connecticut through solid employment and offer healthcare benefits and pay 50% of those benefits and we pay over 60% of our income in state, local, federal and property taxes, when there are some people that have enough money in this country to buy a demented, $25,000 Barbie foosball table just astonishes me.  I mean, isn’t the Occupy Movement about fighting big business and corporate entitlement?  Key Hyundai isn’t anything of that.  Key Hyundai is me, Jill Merriam, and my brother and our 100 employees, and the local Connecticut residents we serve.  In fact, I opted out of corporate life to make a difference in my local community.  Shoot, I just wrote a big check this week to support Connecticut Children’s Medical Center.  You mean I am doing all this and still getting beat up by my local community?  Astonishing, really.

But, I digress.  After FAO Schwartz, Alison and I walked to 89th Street to the Guggenheim.  Mission accomplished.  Got way more of 30 minutes of outdoor activity plus free talk therapy (aka, conversation with a bestie).  We actually may have solved the world’s problems by the time we got there.

By the way, the Guggenheim exhibit is amazing.  It’s an installation by Maurizio Cattelan (had never heard of him before today).  It’s basically a HUGE mobile that hangs from the very top of the museum all the way to the the second floor and encompasses all of his sculptures and mixed media pieces.  It’s weird, really weird, but it’s also thought provoking and really, kind of cool.  Highly recommend a stop there if you are in NYC and have a couple of hours to kill.  Not very kid friendly, though.

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Running, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 8: Weird Barbie Stuff, the Occupiers and the Guggenheim

  1. Jill Merriam says:

    Thanks for the like. Jill

Leave a Reply

