Day 6: That was a close call!

Day Six (Friday) was a chock-a-block day.  I had Key Hyundai’s monthly sales meeting at the Courtyard Marriott in Wallingford at 7:00am (means leaving my house at 6ish; need to leave time for Starbucks).  Immediately after that meeting, I had to hightail it to Norwalk for a 10:30am appointment at the National Passport Office (realized my passport expired in August and we’re going away in a week).  My beautiful mother came with me to the appointment (thank goodness New Haven Public Schools celebrate Three Kings Day).  We had a blast.  The whole experience was like a Seinfeld episode.  We meandered our way home and had lunch with old friends.  Needless to say, the day ticked away with no outdoors time.

My husband Rob and I met for dinner in Middletown, Ct.  We ate at Udupi Bhavan (highly recommend; down and dirty vegetarian Indian restaurant in a strip mall in Middletown, Ct).  Afterwards, we drove into the center of Middletown to get my 30 minutes of outdoor activity.  I had my sneakers with me.  We walked up and down Main Street from end to end.  It was fun to walk and talk.  We walked for a full half hour.  We both commented how the walk really made the night.  We would normally go out to dinner and then be in a quandary on what were going to do to kill enough time so that the babysitter puts the kids to bed.  I would be falling asleep and complaining about what a long day I had.  The walk, though, invigorated me and gave me a second wind.

At the end of the walk, Rob said he wanted a coffee.  So, we headed into Javapalooza.  What a stroke of luck!  We walked in mid-way through an amazing acoustic performance of three guitarists and a sax player.  We sat and listened for an hour.

This 360 day pursuit is really opening us up to new opportunities.  If we didn’t go for the walk, we would never have found the free music.  If we didn’t find the free music, we would have not connected as we did that night.

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Family, Walking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 6: That was a close call!

  1. Allie says:

    Like this! I miss my little babies who are nowhere near babies anymore. What does your mom do in NHPS??

Leave a Reply

