Day 10: Welcome to the Double Digits

I made it to double digit days. A milestone in and of itself.

I made it to the double digit days!  Today was one of those days that got away.  I met with my marketing guru, Kate Mayer (check out her irreverent, awesome blog at http://www.returntoworkmom.com), interviewed someone for a senior position (who I surprisingly liked enough to bring back) and finally realized it was 1:30pm and I was starving.  Off to Panera for a quick bite before coming back to my weekly one-on-one with my General Sales Manager at Key Hyundai of Milford.

I knew my time was getting tight.  I wanted to get to a 5:30pm class at The Fit Playground but I also needed to get in my outdoor time.  The old me, the me of 2011, probably wouldn’t have done either.  I would have found an excuse to stay later at work, killed the rest of the evening and then rushed home in a tizzy, complaining about how exhausting it is to come home from a stressful day at work and right into kid’s bedtime.  Is it possible that I’ve already become more laid back in only 10 short days?

Today was different.  I changed into my exercise clothes out work, snuck out the back door and raced to West Hartford Center.  I parked a few blocks outside of the center (bonus is free parking) and walked from 5:15pm until the class started at 5:30pm.

The class kicked my butt.  I’m not sure if I’m going to be able to move tomorrow.  It was called a Bully Class and let’s just say that after five years with Glenn Marcella, I still didn’t know their could be that many variations on a plank, a mountain climber and a burpee.

I knew I had 15 minutes more of outdoor time to get in and I was meeting my family at Moe’s in Blue Black Square.  So, I walked another 15 minutes around Blue Black.  Bam, my 30 minutes was done.

Today was one of those days where I never would have walked for 30 minutes if I didn’t make this commitment.  Never, ever, ever!

What was your New Year’s commitment and how’s it going?  Love to hear from you!

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Family, Walking, Work/life balance and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

