Day 22: Circles, Circles Everywhere

As I walked outside yesterday, I couldn’t get the word “circle” out of my head.  I’m not a math geek or anything (okay, maybe sometimes) but our world is full of circles; the circle of life, the circle to and from work each day, the circle of seasons in New England, etc. 

I started off my outdoor adventure in a circle.  I left my house, drove my kids to Sunday School, dropped my husband off at a friend’s house and went to the West Hartford Reservoir.  I completed the circle when I picked my kid’s back up and went home.  During that circle, I was able to decompress and find the joy again in spending time with my kids.

Beautiful, cold day!

The West Hartford Reservoir path is a circle.  While I was walking the Reservoir (it gets a capital R because it’s such an amazing place), I stopped at the top of a hill where you get a long view of the water.  It really reminded me of the seasons.  In the summer, you see the trees in full bloom and the sun reflecting the leaves on the trees. In the winter, it looks like a skating ring. 

I’ve had days where I’ve rounded this cornor in the picture sweating so hard that I thought I was going to pass out.  Yesterday, it was so blistering cold that I was very uncomfortable.  But, once I got around the back side, the wind was at my back and the sun was shinning.  It was glorious! 

At the next viewing point, I was reminded of picture I took with my son, Brady, when he was 16 months and I was pregnant with Carly.  I can’t believe that they are now almost eight and 6 1/2.  That is the circle of life!

This outdoor adventure has been amazing so far.  It gives me to time to think and breathe and decompress.   I can’t believe it’s mid-January and I’m not even complaining about winter!  Could it really be having this much of a positive effect on me? 

 

 

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Family, Walking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

