Day 26: Rain, Sleet or Snow Doesn’t Stop MY Family (Except One)

Carly and Rob in front of Bugbee School

I had a chock-full day today.  I got a ride home from a meeting around 4pm (had three cars at home from the dealership and had to get it down to two thus the ride).  It was already sleeting by the time I got home.  I announced that I was going for a walk.  Carly asked to join.  Then, Brady asked to join and walk to Bugbee.  Then, we recruited Rob.  We set off to go and Brady started whimpering that he didn’t want to go, that he never has fun and that life isn’t fair.  It’s really tough being a seven year old that has everything, isn’t it?

Frankly, I didn’t want to hear his whining so we pawned him off on a neighbor and off we went.  I’m not sure if that’s poor parenting for giving him what he wanted or good parenting for knowing when I need some relief?  Carly, Rob and I had a blast.  We walked through the woods to Bugbee, showed Rob the geocache we found a few weeks ago and sang songs all the way home.  She’s always terrific to be around when it’s just one on one (or in this case, two on one).  We got home just before it turned pitch black.

Another huge accomplishment for me.  I never would have gone out in the sleet and rain if I hadn’t made this public commitment.  That is twice this week.

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized, Walking, Work/life balance and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

