Day 27 – 29: Am I Making Excuses?

This weekend was not a top 10 weekend.  I mean, I hate to complain because obviously, anytime spend with my family is precious.  But, my husband had a small surgical procedure on Friday morning that laid him up for the weekend (he’ll be fine…let’s just say, no more kids for our household).  That would have been enough to handle (let’s face it, men are much more dramatic patients than woman) but then I got a sour stomach and a cold on top of it.  I woke up at 4:30am this morning coughing and my son woke up at 5:30am this morning in a full blown asthma attack.  I treated him, got my daughter to and from Sunday school, ran them to a dear friend’s house for the afternoon, went to a baby shower, got my kids, went to dinner with them, got them ready for bed and got them to bed.  I give a huge shout out to single parents.  It is not an easy task.  Needless to say, I just put my daughter to bed and I am done, finished, kaput.  My throat is sore and my eyes are bleary.  Bath and bed are what I need now.  I cannot drag myself outside for a walk.

So, these are all excuses for why I only got actively outside one of the three days.  I did manage to get to The Fit Playground yesterday for a kick-ass class in between the sour stomach and the cold (although the inverted push up didn’t feel great).  And, I did manage to get outside last night at 8:00pm and walk through my neighborhood for a half hour.  So, all is not lost.

All that aside, I realize now that I broke one of the tenants of goal setting, “make it reasonable.”  It is obviously not reasonable to say that I’ll get outside 30 minutes a day for 360 days this year.  I own two businesses and have a young family.  But, I’m not changing my goal part way through the game, because that is another one of the tenants.  Set it and stick to it.  Don’t move the yardstick part way through the game.   So far, I’ve missed three days; our travel day home from Tobago and two sick days.  I have made up the actual time, though, because there are many days that I’m outside for more than 30 minutes.  One thing I’m going to try to focus on is getting the outdoor activity in earlier in the day.

What do you think?  Am I making excuses or should I give myself a break?

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Family, Walking, Work/life balance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

