Paleo Schmaleo….

I’ve been exceedingly absent from writing.  I got caught up in too much “stuff” and made the cardinal mistake.  I stopped writing because I didn’t feel like I had anything to say.  The truth of the matter is writing is one of things that I love so I just need to do it and stop worrying if it’s perfect or not.

I got a great book recommendation from my dear friend and colleague, Travis Miller.  It’s called Well Fed.  It’s a Paleo cookbook.  I know Paleo is all the rage and I’m not sure I 100% buy into it.  I do believe I feel better when I eat less gluten.  And, of course I feel better when I eat less processed foods.  But, whether you buy into or not, Well Fed is one kick butt cookbook.  It encourages you to shop on Sunday for the week and “pre-prepare” the basics, like a restaurant would.  So, I went to the grocery store yesterday, shopped for the week, went home and spent a couple of hours cooking with my husband.  We made roasted cauliflower, cumin carrots, sautéed kale and a huge “salad starter” (i.e. precut a bunch of vegetables and mixed with a dressing; now we can just throw them over salad).  We also grilled chicken and tonight we are grilling salmon.

The one thing I know for sure is it guarantees a healthy eating week.  My recent goal is to find more joy in the day-to-day moments and to stop thinking, “when I accomplish x, I’ll be happy”.  Yesterday’s cookfest with my husband certainly accomplished that!

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment