My Journey to Haiti: So What’s a Car Dealer Doing on a Medical Trip Anyways?

This is the mission house that we will stay at in Haiti.

My job on this mission trip is two fold.  First, I am a free set of hands to assist wherever is needed.  I am excited for that part.  As the owner and operating partner of Key Hyundai, I am always in charge and always on.  It will be nice to be there as a support member and not as the leader.  Second, I am hoping to log a lot of material (interviews, pictures, and video) that I can use to help build the Medical Aid to Haiti (MATH) website.

I am going with a group of around 10 people and I am one of only two non-medical personnel.  We will arrive in Port au Prince mid day next Saturday.  Sunday is a rest day because the country is primarily closed for business on Sundays.  We are staying at the Norwich Archdiocese Mission House.  We will receive three meals a day there, sleep and shower there.  There is allegedly internet service there too.

On Monday, we go to a orphanage and do an in-service day.  While the doctors and nurses are attending to medical issues, I will work in the other non-medical member of the team to play games with the girls in the orphanage.  From what I understand, most of the girls there are economically orphaned (meaning that their mom’s are alive but can’t afford to care for them).  As the mother of a seven year old girl, I imagine this will be very difficult to witness.

Then, Tuesday through Friday, we follow the MATH mobile medical clinic to its daily sites.  Our team includes a dermatologist, two ophthalmologists and a couple of primary care doctors and nurses.  We already shipped down two barrels of glasses.  One of my jobs may be to help register people or to help them fit the Haitians for glasses once a doctor writes a prescription.

Finally, on Saturday, we head back to the airport and home to Connecticut.  My vision for the trip is to have a positive impact in the lives we serve, find friendships with the fellow members of the team and to have improved energy around furthering my volunteer work.

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Medical Aid to Haiti, Travel, Work/life balance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

