My Journey to Haiti: But First, NYC!

There are just those times in your life where you feel like you are on the cusp of a major change and this is one of those times.  I have always had a vision, since I was a little girl, of being able to help those less fortunate than me.  My mom always told me that I hated injustice.  I was aware of it before I even knew what the word meant.

I’ve dabbled in volunteer work and we’ve always used Key Hyundai as a vehicle to support many local charities, but I’ve never sunk my teeth into volunteerism as much as I would like, until now.  Just in the last three months, I’ve been asked to sit on the Business Advisory Council for Central Connecticut State University, the Economic Development Committee for the Town of Vernon and the Board of Medical Aid to Haiti.  I am equally passionate and excited about all three opportunities.

And, I’ve recently put management in place to take over 50% of my day to day tactical responsibilities at Key Hyundai.  I am going to use that time to really pursue my passion of charitable work.

That brings me to tomorrow night in NYC.  My fabulous role model, my friend and an all around incredible human being, Debbie Phillips, invited me to a small gathering of women to hear Jennifer Buffet (Warren Buffet’s daughter in law) and Kathy LeMay from Raising Change speak about “Women and Money:  Re-imaging Economics” tomorrow night in New York City.  The salon talk is being co-sponsored by Debbie’s organization, Women on Fire.

Just like my trip to Haiti, I have no idea what to expect.  I am sure I am going to be transformed.  And, I’m sure the timing is just right with my Haiti trip only three days away.  I am humbled to be spending an evening around such amazingly successful and inspiring women.  Thank you, dear Debbie!

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Family, Health and wellness, Medical Aid to Haiti and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Journey to Haiti: But First, NYC!

  1. Can’t wait to hear about the evening.

Leave a Reply

