My Journal to Haiti: Power of Women

I have been a woman in a man’s world my whole life.  I was a “math and science” kid, I worked for an investment bank, I worked at Microsoft and I own Key Hyundai (and am one of the only female car dealers in Connecticut).

I didn’t realize until recently how much I miss being around women for support, collaboration and friendship.  This year I was fortunate enough to go with nine amazing women on a trip to Paris run by Debbie Phillips from Women on Fire.  It was life changing!  The women I met are so supportive.  They call and text and Facebook to check in and they are there for me when I have a bad day.  Aside from my amazing mother and grandmother, I’ve never had a professional female role model until this year.  Now, I can name at least ten of them.

Since my Paris trip, I’ve made an effort to seek out the support of women.  It was my goal coming out of the trip and I’ve lived up to it.

Last night I had an incredible opportunity to go to NYC as Debbie Phillips guest to hear Jennifer Buffet of the NoVo Foundation and Kathy LeMay of Raising Change talk to an intimate gathering of 45 women about women and money and changing the world wide paradigm about money, currency and giving.  It was a life changing experience.  My head is swirling, for sure.  I was hanging out with Eileen Fisher and Eve Ensler and a community journalist from the Congo, and a film maker you just presented to Sundance and of course, Debbie Phillips.  Each woman was more amazing then the next.  It was truly uplifting.

When I got home and checked my email, I realized that the entire group of people going to Haiti with me on Saturday are women; all the doctors, nurses and support personnel.  Coincidence?  I don’t think so.  I think it’s another sign that I am exactly where I should be.

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Medical Aid to Haiti, Travel, Work/life balance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

