Weekly Musings: Isn’t Life’s Goal Happiness?

The more things change, the more they stay the same

Dear Fellow Solution Providers,

The Presidential Debate was last night.  I didn’t watch it because my daughter was in my bed with the stomach flu.  But, I was looking at Facebook and getting nauseous from all the hatred out there (and two people nauseous in one bed isn’t good).  I ended up writing this on my Facebook status:

It’s amazing how partisan American has become. Why do we follow in the footsteps of the politicians whose behavior we are mocking? Can’t we do better than become a herd of sheep? Can’t we like one candidate more without spitting anger about the other? At the end of the day, I think most of us have more in common than we think. Almost everyone I talk to wants fiscal discipline and some social safety net. There IS value to government. We should stand up and support the institution.

They always say stay away from religion and politics in business.  Well, this isn’t about politics; this is about life and about how we behave as human beings every single day.  As solution providers and not product pushers, we at Key Hyundai are trying to change an industry that has had a terrible reputation for years.  In order to do that, we need to do things differently from the herd of sheep known as auto dealers and car salesman.  We need to avoid the temptation to take short cuts.  We need to stand along side our customers, listen to their concerns, understand their differences and help them to find a solution that works for them.  Then, and only, then will we have harmony and change the image of the auto industry.   It’s no different at home, at work or in politics.

Take some time this week to thing about how you are influenced by others and how you would behave in life if you followed your own heart and charted your own course.  Would it be different?  My recipe for happiness is:  work hard, be in service to others, keep an open mind, be kind and be open to other’s opinions.  What works for you?  As always, I would love to hear your opinions.

Kindly,

Jill Merriam, Dealer For the People R

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Key Hyundai Solution Providers, Uncategorized, Work/life balance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

