Weekly Musings: The Aftermath of Hurricane Sandy at Key Hyundai

Holy cow!

Key Hyundai of Milford and many of our friends, employees and customers are still without power during the aftermath from Hurricane Sandy.  We are operating a command center out of our dealership in Manchester, Ct (Key Hyundai of Manchester), which is fully operational.  If you need anything at all, please don’t hesitate to contact us in Manchester at 860-643-2700.  We have extra help standing by.

Due to Hurricane Sandy, my weekly letter to employees is slightly different this week.  I debated about whether I shoud post it on my blog or not because it’s a bit more internal to Key Hyundai.  But, I decided I made a committment to post these weekly letters so I am going to post them all. So, here it is….

Dear Fellow Solution Providers:

Thanks for being so supportive during the storm.  I think we’ve checked in with virtually everyone.  It seems like most have come through relatively unscathed but our thoughts go out to those who experienced any personal loss.  If anyone needs any support, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us.  Special thanks to Adrianna and Erin who agreed to come up to Manchester to work.  They have allowed us to keep a line of communication open with our Milford customers throughout the aftermath of Irene.  Also, thanks to Joy, Maryellen and Sarah who also came to Manchester to ensure that our office functions keep rolling and that payroll got processed on time!

Times like these always force us to reflect on our emergency policies.  We are in the process of establishing a hotline that you can call whenever you question whether to report to work or not.  As soon as that is established, we will get it out to you.  Also, I personally update our Key Hyundai Facebook page during emergencies.  So, become a fan of that page if you are on Facebook and stay up-to-date with any emergency closings.  Finally, make sure that Sarah Fernandes in HR (sarah@keycars.com) has your up to date home and emergency contact information on file.

I’ve had a lot of people come to me with concern over the business because we had to close Milford during the aftermath of the storm.  Thank you to all who did!  It is very heartwarming to know that we are all there for one another.  This is certainly a time to reach out to your neighbors and communities and make sure everyone is cared for.  If you know of anyone in need, as always, let us know and we will do our best to help.  It’s times like these when we come together as a community that reminds me of a song by Harry Chapin that my Dad introduced to me as a child.  I think these are the times in life when we show our best selves.

“I Wonder What Would Happen to This World”, by Harry Chapin.

Now if a man tried to take his time on earth
And prove before he died what one man’s life could be worth
Well I wonder what would happen to this world

I hope by this time next week, the power is restored and our community is well on its way to healing.

Kindly,

Jill Merriam

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Key Hyundai Solution Providers and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

