Weekly Musings: How We Can Help Our Neighbors in Newtown, Ct

Memorial in Newtown,Ct. Photo credit, Kate Mayer

Memorial in Newtown,Ct. Photo credit, Kate Mayer

Dear Solution Providers:

It’s been a heavy hearted week for all Connecticut residents.  If you feel like you are struggling at all with the tragedy of last Friday and need to talk, please don’t hesitate to reach out to someone to get you the appropriate help.  Just know that you are never alone and if you are struggling, your Key Hyundai family is here for you.  This is difficult for everyone.  I’ve found it way too easy to put myself in those mom’s shoes; 45 minutes from us with kids my kid’s ages.

So, how do we move on as a community?  How do we start to heal and make those lives lost worthwhile?  I would love to hear your suggestions.  And, I believe it’s a very worthwhile conversation that everyone should be having.  One suggestion I’ve seen it to commit to performing 26 acts of goodness over the next month.  I love that!

You could also donate money to the victims.  The most reputable way to do that is to mail a check to:

Sandy Hook School Support Fund
c/o Newtown Savings Bank
39 Main Street, Newtown CT 06470

I typically don’t think religion has any place in a business organization, but I was introduced to a biblical passage this weekend that really speaks to the pain and hope that can come out of this.

Not by Might; Zechariah 4:6

Not by might and not by power, but by spirit alone shall we all live in peace.
The children sing.  The children dream.
And their tears may fall, but we’ll hear them call
and another song will rise, another song will rise, another song will rise.

Our hearts go out to our friends and family who were directly affected to by this.  We have a couple of Newtown residents that work with us; Kate Mayer, our community outreach and marketing expert and Don Jones, a sales consultant and perhaps more that I’m not aware of. I personally know someone who lost their godson.  And, I want to give a special callout to the silent heroes; the first responders.  My best friend’s husband was on the scene as part of the FBI SWAT team and witnessed it all.  These people are going to need our love, compassion and community too.

Here’s to brighter days.  As salty New Englanders, we know how to rise up from hardship with hard work, grace and determination.  The world’s eyes are on us; let’s show them our strength.

Kindly,

Jill Merriam

Dealer For the People R

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

