Weekly Musings: Key Hyundai Employees Talk about Strong Leadership

Jill Merriam and Joci Sherwood, Service Coordinator at the Key Hyundai Holiday Party

Jill Merriam and Joci Sherwood, Service Coordinator at the Key Hyundai Holiday Party

I’m still smiling from the Key Hyundai Holiday Party. Thanks to everyone who joined us. I had a blast bowling with a bunch of people from the Key Hyundai of Milford service team. I was by far the worst bowler but they really took mercy on me. I’m blaming my fancy dress; next year I’m wearing pants and a fancy bowling shirt and I’m sure my score will double.

Whenever we poll Key Hyundai employees about what’s important, one of the top things that comes up is, “strong and competent leadership.” That is key to living our mission and vision:

“We are solution providers and not product pushers. We believe everyone deserves to drive a nicer, newer car. At Key Hyundai, we want your car to be fun and safe to drive for as long as you wish to drive it. “

We are all leaders in various roles in our lives and as we move through time and space. The better leaders we become, the more successful our lives become. We are leaders when we are interacting with our customers; we are leaders at times when we are interacting with our colleagues, our kids, our parents, our friends, our neighbors, etc. So, I thought it would be helpful to teach you the leadership model that I use every single day.

It’s called the POA Model and I learned it from my business coach, Rob Berkley.  There are only three steps to it:

1. Polite: You should be polite in all your interactions with people. You can be polite and deliver bad news or polite and deliver good news. If you want to be impactful on people, you have to be polite. What that means is no sarcasm and no having fun at other people’s expense.
2. Open: You have to be open with people. You have to willing to share of yourself before people will be willing to share with you. People need to understand that you are a human being and you suffer from life’s ups and downs too. For example, if you come into work after a great weekend, share that information. If, on the other hand, your head isn’t in the game one day because of a personal situation, share that too. People will trust you more when you share with them.
3. Accountable: In order for people to follow you, you have to be accountable. If you commit to something, do it in the time frame you’ve committed to. It’s that easy!

Despite what you hear, leaders are made not born. They are made with hard work and discipline.

I would love to hear your feedback on this.

Have a great weekend!

Kindly,

Jill Merriam, Dealer For the People R

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Family, Key Hyundai Solution Providers, Work/life balance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

