Weekly Musings: What are your values? Do you stay true to them whether or not you’re being watched?

“Real integrity is doing the right thing, knowing that nobody’s going to know whether you’ve done it or not,” anonymous.

We had our monthly sales meeting this week and I gave a presentation on how important it is to figure out our values and make sure you’re living them everyday.

Here is a brief summary of that meeting:

What are your values?  What’s important to you? What’s the highest expression of you that you want the world to know you by?  If you don’t know, it’s worthwhile taking 30 minutes and thinking about it.  I ask myself, “what do I want people to be saying at my eulogy 57 years from now (have to think positively, right?”

For me, my leading value is to be of service to others.  To help others learn, develop and grow.  When we were developing the Key Hyundai mission statement, I made sure it fit within my personal values:

“We are solution providers and not product pushers.  We believe everyone deserves to drive a nicer, newer car.  Key Hyundai wants to keep your car fun and safe to drive for as long as you wish to drive it.”

What that means is that it’s our obligation to help each and every customer by following the steps in the process the right way and doing everything we can to help them drive a nicer, newer car and service their car properly.  We should always think about the customer or a fellow employee and think about how we can be of service to them.  Through that, we get our needs met.

How many of you have ever thought, and be honest, “wow, she really goes overboard to take care of customers.  That customer pulled one over on her?”

For me, taking care of our customers is an extension and an expression of my role in this world.  And, if I get taken advantage of 10% of the time, so be it.  I can live with that.

I want each and every one of you to feel the same way.  I want you to feel like every single day, whether someone is watching or not, you are staying true to your values.

As always, thanks for everything you do.  I am in awe of how you’ve built this culture in dealership every single day.

Kindly,

Jill Merriam

Dealer For the People (R)

 

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Key Hyundai Solution Providers, Work/life balance and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

