Weekly Musings: I Recommend Simon Sinek’s “Start with Why”

Simon Sinek is brilliant!

Simon Sinek is brilliant!

Hyundai recently mailed me three leadership books that they think are worth reading.  One of them caught my eye.  It’s called “Start with Why,” by Simon Sinek.  I saw a video on Youtube by Simon Sinek a few months ago and it was really interesting (you should Google it – well worth watching).  His goal is to build a world where people are inspired by the work they do.Here is a section from the book called “The Price You Pay for the Money You Make.”  This section reminded me of the work we’re doing and the mission we are spreading at Key Hyundai. In it, he talks about sales tactics that are manipulative; the opposite of what we preach at Key Hyundai.  Our industry is unfortunately known for deceptive sales tactics.  That’s why I’m even prouder of the work we’re doing!

“I cannot dispute that manipulations work.  Every one of them can indeed influence behavior and every one of them can help a company become quite successful.  But there are trade-offs.  Not a single one of them breeds loyalty.  Over the course of time, they cost more and more.  The gains are short-term.  And they increase the level of stress for both the buyer and the seller. 

Leadership requires people to stick with you through thick and thin.  Leadership is the ability to rally people not for a single event, but for years.  In business, leadership means that customers will continue to support your company even when you slip up.  If manipulation is the only strategy, what happens the next time a purchase decision is required? 

There is a big difference between repeat business and loyalty.  Repeat business is when people do business with you multiple times.  Loyalty is when people are willing to turn down a better product or a better price to continue doing business with you.  Loyal customers don’t even bother to research the competition or entertain other options.  Loyalty is not easily won. “ – Simon Sinek, “Start with Why”

So, here’s to each of us being leaders and creating loyalty through our mission:

We are solution providers and not product pushers.  We believe everyone deserves to drive a nicer, newer car.  We want to keep your car fun and safe to drive for as long as you wish to drive it.

Have a great weekend, Happy Easter and Happy Passover.  Here’s to some warm weather just over the horizon!

Kindly,

Jill Merriam

Dealer For the People R

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Key Hyundai Solution Providers and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Musings: I Recommend Simon Sinek’s “Start with Why”

  1. Hi Jill. How great is “Start With Why” right? Simon is a wonderful writer who is also an inspiration in my life. He’s coming out with his 2nd book – believe it releases later this year – and I’m so excited to read it!

    If you are interested in additional Simon Sinek content, I highly recommend you watch is TED Talk – believe it is the 7th most popular TED Talk of all time. Additionally, in my work running my educational media company, I interview Simon each year as part of my career documentary interview series Capture Your Flag. Not only are we following his journey (started before Start With Why was released and the TED Talk was recorded) but also we are bringing together a wide range of inspiring characters – 60 of them – to learn from their experiences and apply those lessons and themes to our own pursue of living more fully and finding more meaning in our work.

    May you Capture Your Flag in 2013!

    Erik Michielsen

    • Jill Merriam says:

      Dear Erik,

      Thanks so much! How cool is that! Where can I find some of your work? I really love Start with Why. I felt like I was “home” when I read it because it encompasses so much of what we preach at Key Hyundai each and every day. Kindly, Jill

Leave a Reply

