Weekly Musings: Selling is Not Hard. Listen WAY More than you Talk.

Art of selling is all about listening.  Listen and ask probing questions.  Selling is all about providing a solution to the customer at a price that works for them.

Art of selling is all about listening. Listen and ask probing questions. Selling is all about providing a solution to the customer at a price that works for them.

I’ve had to interact with a lot of sales people recently.  We’re investing in a sales training system for the Key Hyundai sales force so I’ve talked to a lot of automotive vendors.   Let me tell you, selling is definitely a lost art.  Everyone I’ve encountered made the exact same mistake.  They haven’t taken even five minutes to get to know me and what I’m looking for.  They have just forced information down my throat and then gone in to try to close the sale on price.  Do I really care about how great their product is if it doesn’t work for me?  If I’m turned off on how they sell me, why would I want to invest in their sales training?

We’ve all had it happen to us.  We walk into a furniture store, for example, and start looking around.  The salesperson comes up and says, “Can I help you?”  You say, “We are looking for a tan couch”.  They start talking and talking, selling you the benefits of a certain couch and you can’t get a word in edgewise.  Finally, you spit out, “it has to be a sleeper sofa.”  Now, they’ve ticked you off, wasted your time and haven’t gotten a sale.  What if instead, when you said you are looking for a tan couch, they followed it up with additional probing questions, like:  where are you going to use it, does it need to be a sleeper sofa, does it need to be a certain size, do you prefer leather or clothe, what’s your budget, what kind of wear will it get, are you looking for formal or informal, etc.

Selling is so simple.

Seek to understand the customer before you seek to be understood.  In other words, ask questions, listen and don’t talk.

No one is doing it.

If you do it, you will succeed.

Have a great weekend!

Kindly,

Jill Merriam

Dealer For the People R

PS:  Thanks, as always for living our mission statement, “we are solution providers and not product pushers.  We believe everyone deserves to drive at nicer, newer car.  Key Hyundai wants to keep your car fun and safe to drive for as long as you wish to drive it.”

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Key Hyundai Solution Providers and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

