Disrespect. What a painful word.

Disrespect.  This word causes a lot of pain in America.  I’ve been thinking about this word a lot lately.  I hear that word every day.  The word knows no socio-economic boundaries, as a good friend pointed out. “I had to retaliate because I was disrespected.” Same idea is stated without using the word disrespected, “I had to call the Principal because I’m not going to let that teacher get away with talking to my kid like that.”

What if we just took responsibility for our behavior and didn’t worry about the other person’s reaction?  Or, what if we addressed the other party directly in and a kind and compassionate way, with the goal of growth for all, rather than needing to prove a point or win?

I think our collective consciousness would shift.  Shift could happen on the streets of cities and in the pick up line at the elementary schools of their wealthy suburbs.   It’s hard work, and our fear of rejection comes in.  But, it’s the only way to make meaningful change;pushing through that fear to a brighter place.

About Jill Merriam

I am a car dealer (http://www.keycars.com), a Mom to my little loves and a wife to my hubby Rob. I am addicted to my mission to be help people drive nicer, newer cars, leadership development and leading a fulfilling life. I hope you enjoy my musings.
This entry was posted in Family, leadership, personal growth, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

